Ravel and Strauss


Karina Canellakis

Sun 8 Mar 2020 7.00pm - 9.05pm
Barbican Hall, London

Strauss Die Frau ohne Schatten – Symphonic Fantasy
Ravel Piano Concerto in G major
Strauss Death and Transfiguration
Ravel La valse

Karina Canellakis conductor
Cédric Tiberghien piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Book Wildcard tickets
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

arrowDownload the programme (PDF)

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Karina Canellakis takes us through a feast of Ravel and Strauss in her debut concert with the LSO, exploring themes of life, the soul and mortality.

Strauss’ most instrumentally demanding score opens the evening – a dark fairy-tale suite from his opera Die Frau ohne Schatten, depicting the trials of love and belonging. Turbulent, yet hauntingly serene, the physical and spirit worlds that are represented collide.

Cédric Tiberghien accompanies the LSO for Ravel’s jazz-flecked Piano Concerto in G Major, famously opening with the sound of a whip-crack. And then, ascend into the afterlife, as Strauss’ Death and Transfiguration relates the story of a dying man reliving his life, from childhood to death. Gradually waltzing towards a masterful burst of power, Ravel’s La Valse closes the night, echoing the changing atmosphere in Europe after World War I.