Vaughan Williams & Britten


Pappano: British Roots

Sun 15 Mar 2020 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Britten Violin Concerto
Vaughan Williams Symphony No 6

Sir Antonio Pappano conductor
Vilde Frang violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Book Wildcard tickets
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuy

arrowDownload the programme (PDF)

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Sir Antonio Pappano presents music by Vaughan Williams and Britten, influenced by both the composers of the past and the realities of life in the first half of the 20th century.

The Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis is unmistakably English, based on a hymn written 400 years previously. With lush blending of string instruments, it’s a mesmerising amalgamation of sacred music and folksong.

Taking inspiration from Beethoven, Prokofiev and the Baroque era in each of its three movements, and written as the world stood on the brink of war, Britten’s Violin Concerto is a sophisticated work showing off a plethora of technical and virtuosic styles in the solo part. Written in 1947, Vaughan Williams’ Sixth Symphony also seems to reflect the hardships and devastation wrought by World War II, melancholy in some movements, ferocious in others.

Pre-concert performance

5.30pm Barbican
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Free pre-concert recital

Rec ClassicFM 2016 150 50