François-Xavier Roth conducts Dukas


Sun 22 Mar 2020 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London
DUKAS The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
DUKAS Polyeucte
DUKAS Symphony in C
François-Xavier Roth conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

There must be millions of people for whom their first experience of classical music was Disney’s Fantasia, underscored by Dukas’ The Sorcerer’s Apprentice. But you might struggle to name another work by him.

Dukas was a perfectionist. He was highly self-critical and destroyed many of his works, and after the success of The Sorcerer’s Apprentice – even before Disney had worked its magic – he barely dared compose orchestral music in case he couldn’t live up to his own success. The inventive, dazzling music brilliantly depicts the magic and humour of the story of the hapless apprentice.

The programme is completed by two of his earlier works that did avoid the flames. Polyeucte is a 15-minute overture for a tragedy of the same name by Pierre Corneille and has much in common with Wagner’s music. Symphony in C, too, shows his roots in Franck and Beethoven and is an exuberant and optimistic work with a gorgeously lyrical slow movement. ‘I hope the audience will discover more of this amazing composer,’ says LSO Principal Guest Conductor François-Xavier Roth.

Discovery Day: Dukas

Sunday 22 March 10am–5pm
Attend a morning LSO rehearsal conducted by François-Xavier Roth, followed by a talk and chamber music at LSO St Luke's in the afternoon.

More info