LSO Artist Portrait: Antoine Tamestit


with Daniel Harding

Sun 19 Apr 2020 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

Jörg Widmann Viola Concerto
Bruckner Symphony No 5

Daniel Harding conductor
Antoine Tamestit viola
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Antoine Tamestit – a soloist with a mission to make listeners fall in love with the viola – opens his LSO Artist Portrait, which runs throughout the season and showcases his musical inspirations.

He starts with a work in which he and his instrument take centre-stage, a work written for him – Jörg Widmann’s Viola Concerto. Very much a theatre piece, it makes full use of the deep friendship between composer and performer, sending Tamestit walking through the ranks of the orchestra as he plays. There are inventive playing techniques, experimental sounds and body percussion; and the work is by turns humorous, ferocious, delicate and hauntingly beautiful.

Bruckner was a surprising character: modest and self-effacing, unfashionably conservative and painfully awkward in social situations; but his compositions were anything but. The Fifth Symphony is all bold themes, heroic melodies and dramatic orchestration. It’s as if all the ambitions, hopes and desires that Bruckner could never express came pouring out in his music.