Gershwin, Ives, Harris & Bernstein


Rattle: Roots & Origins

Sat 6 Jun 2020 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

Gershwin Cuban Overture
IvesDecoration Day
Gershwin ed Watson Piano Concerto in F major
Roy Harris Symphony No 3
BernsteinThree Dance Episodes from ‘On the Town’
Gershwin An American in Paris

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Kirill Gerstein piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £57 £42 £32 £22 £16

Check £10 Wildcard tickets availability
Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees

Part of the main season multibuy - click here for more information on multibuys

Part of the 2019/20 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Six portraits of America from the first half of the 20th century round off Sir Simon Rattle’s season-long exploration of sources of musical inspiration in toe-tapping style.

Jazz and Latin inevitably predominate in the featured works by Gershwin and Bernstein. Yet both composers fold in other, more classical influences – from the impressionistic swirls of Debussy in An American in Paris to the spiky rhythms of Stravinsky in Three Dance Episodes.

There is a more home-grown and nostalgic feel to the other music in the concert. Military and hymn tunes weave in and out of Charles Ives’ melancholic and typically idiosyncratic Decoration Day. There are fragments of folk melodies peppered throughout Roy Harris’ expansive and shimmering Third Symphony, described by Sir Simon Rattle as one of the symphonic masterpieces of the last century.

A programme of great variety and contrast, yet each composer in their own way quintessentially American.

classic fm