Live on BBC Radio 3, BBC Four and BBC iPlayer

Sun 30 Aug 2020 7.30pm - 8.50pm

Gabrieli Sacrae symphoniae: Canzon septimi et octavi toni a 12
Elgar Introduction and Allegro
Beethoven Piano Sonata in C sharp minor, Op 27 No 2 ‘quasi una fantasia’ (‘Moonlight’) – 1st mvt
György Kurtág … quasi una fantasia …
Gabrieli Sacrae Symphoniae: Canzon noni toni a 12, C.183
Thomas Adès Dawn: Chacony for orchestra at any distance (world premiere)
Vaughan Williams Symphony No 5

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Mitsuko Uchida piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Watch this concert

Tickets: free to watch/listen

Sir Simon Rattle conducts the London Symphony Orchestra in a programme ranging from Elgar to Adès and Gabrieli to Kurtág. The climax is Vaughan Williams’s Fifth Symphony, a surprising oasis of serenity written at the height of the Second World War.

This concert will be broadcast live from the Royal Albert Hall on BBC Radio 3, BBC Four TV and online via the BBC iPlayer.