Melodic Revolutions


Sir Simon Rattle

Wed 23 Sep 2020 7.30pm - 9.35pm
Barbican Hall, London

Ligeti Atmospères
Wagner Prelude from 'Lohengrin'
Webern Six Pieces
Wagner Prelude and Liebestod from 'Tristan and Isolde'
Brahms Symphony No 2

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of the 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Brahms’ most lyrical symphony meets three composers who redefined the power of sound. For Sir Simon Rattle, Wagner, Ligeti, Webern and Brahms all speak to each other, and to us.

Not all revolutions are noisy. Wagner’s rapturous visions, Webern’s haunted Viennese miniatures and Ligeti’s mind-expanding soundscape all break music down to its elements to create sounds that defy the imagination. Together, they make a ravishing prelude to Brahms’ sunniest symphony.

And they’re all about the emotional power of sound. Brahms wrote his Second Symphony while on holiday in the Austrian Alps, but as Rattle has said, it’s ‘far from conventional’ – and Brahms’ way of shaping and colouring a melody was the launch pad for Webern’s and Ligeti’s imaginations, as well as a powerful challenge to Wagner. Together, they’re a tonic for the ears as well as the heart.