Haydn, Schubert & Unsuk Chin


Sir Simon Rattle & Leonidas Kavakos

Thu 7 Jan 2021 7.30pm - 9.35pm
Barbican Hall, London
Haydn Symphony No 86
Unsuk Chin Violin Concerto No 2* (world premiere)
Schubert Symphony No 9, 'The Great
Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
*Co-commissioned by the LSOBoston Symphony Orchestra and Leipzig Gerwandhaus Orchestra, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation
evs sponsorsignet engl rgb

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.


Part of 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

This performance is supported by the National Bank of Greece to celebrate the 200th Anniversary of Greek Independence, within the context of the “Bicentennial Initiative 1821-2021” with the participation of leading foundations (the Eugenides Foundation, the B & M Theocharakis Foundation for the Fine Arts & Music, the Captain Vassilis & Carmen Constantakopoulos Foundation, the Social and Cultural Affairs Welfare Foundation (KIKPE), the Lambrakis Foundation, the A.C. Laskaridis Charitable Foundation, the Aikaterini Laskaridis Foundation, the John S. Latsis Public Benefit Foundation, the A.G. Leventis Foundation, the Bodossaki Foundation, the Foundation for Education and European Culture, the Michael N. Stassinopoulos-VIOHALCO Public Benefit Foundation and the Onassis Foundation).

LSO Spring Concerts Update
We are finalising our plans for the Spring term, in light of the latest restrictions. Full programme and booking details for our revised concerts will be announced on Tuesday 8 December.

From Vienna to Seoul: Sir Simon Rattle conducts, as symphonies by Haydn and Schubert – the ‘Great C Major’ – frame a major new work from the extraordinary imagination of Unsuk Chin.

Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major symphony didn’t get its nickname for nothing, and this vast, sunlit musical journey through the Romantic imagination is one of those pieces that just sweeps you away. But Sir Simon’s beloved Haydn is every bit as energising and inventive; and a new concerto by Unsuk Chin is always big news.

Tonight it’s premiered by a big star. ‘I doubt if there is more than a handful of violinists alive who can match Kavakos,’ wrote Gramophone of our soloist tonight. ‘I’m attracted by virtuosity,’ says Unsuk Chin, and her beautiful First Violin Concerto was hailed as ‘the first masterpiece of the new century’ when it was premiered in 2001. With Kavakos as its champion, its successor is likely to make just as much of an impact.


Recommended by Classic FM

Classic FM logo