Schubert Ninth Symphony 'The Great'


Sir Simon Rattle and Mitsuko Uchida

Thu 14 Jan 2021 7.30pm - 9.50pm
Barbican Hall, London
Weill Mahagonny: Ein Songspiel
Piano Concerto
Symphony No 9, 'The Great'
Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Mitsuko Uchida piano
Guildhall Singers
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

Part of 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

This performance is funded in part by the Kurt Weill Foundation For Music, Inc., New York, NY

KWF logo Web

LSO Spring Concerts Update
We are finalising our plans for the Spring term, in light of the latest restrictions. Full programme and booking details for our revised concerts will be announced on Tuesday 8 December.

Schubert, Kurt Weill and Mitsuko Uchida playing Schumann: Sir Simon Rattle explores two centuries of German dreams and nightmares.

‘Show me the way to the next whisky bar …’ Kurt Weill’s gloriously cynical Mahagonny Songspiel is under no illusions about the state of inter-war Germany. But Schubert’s Ninth Symphony opens up vast, sunlit new worlds, and Schumann’s Piano Concerto is pure Romantic poetry, especially in the incomparable hands of Mitsuko Uchida.

‘Schumann gets neglected so easily by the public,’ says Uchida. ‘I love him very much’. And when a pianist as great as she is plays this warm-hearted, remarkably intimate concerto, you’ll feel that love too. It’s an inspired choice of Sir Simon’s to follow it with the boundless energy and vaulting optimism of Schubert’s ‘Great’ C major symphony: a work that Schumann rescued from obscurity, and summed up with the word ‘heavenly’.