Varèse, Bartók & Strauss


François-Xavier Roth with Isabelle Faust

Thu 18 Feb 2021 7.30pm - 9.35pm
Barbican Hall, London

Varèse Intégrales
Bartók Violin Concerto No 2
Strauss Ein Heldenleben

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Isabelle Faust violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets available)

Wildcard tickets and T&Cs  

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. Click here for more information on booking fees.

Part of the main season multibuy. Click here for more information on multibuys.

Part of 2020/21 season

 Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

LSO Spring Concerts Update
We are finalising our plans for the Spring term, in light of the latest restrictions. Full programme and booking details for our revised concerts will be announced on Tuesday 8 December.

‘A Hero’s Life’: grand emotions and roof-raising sounds. François-Xavier Roth conducts the LSO in Varèse, Bartók and Richard Strauss’ stupendous musical self-portrait.

Richard Strauss was never shy about blowing his own trumpet. Still, it takes more than just self-confidence to tell your own life story in music quite as extrovert as Ein Heldenleben. Add Bartók’s Second Violin Concerto, with Isabelle Faust as soloist, and the musical temperature really starts to climb off the scale.

Because if there’s nothing quite as grand, as lush and as thrillingly self-confident as Ein Heldenleben (and Strauss even includes a retrospective of his own greatest hits, as well as a startlingly steamy love scene), Bartók’s concerto yields to no one in intensity and passion. Isabelle Faust plays it with unrivalled mastery. The sonic surprises of Varèse’s Intégrales, meanwhile, sound as startling today as they did in 1925.

Pre-concert performance

6pm Barbican
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Free pre-concert recital