Shostakovich 'The Year 1905'


Noseda: Russian Roots

Sun 28 Feb 2021 7.00pm - 9.10pm
Barbican Hall, London

Britten Violin Concerto
Shostakovich Symphony No 11, ‘The Year 1905’

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Janine Jansen violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of the 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Shostakovich’s Eleventh Symphony and Britten’s Violin Concerto: conductor Gianandrea Noseda and violinist Janine Jansen are a powerhouse partnership in a pair of towering 20th-century masterpieces.

In a sense, the whole 20th century was spent dancing on a volcano. Shostakovich’s massive 11th symphony tells a tale of revolution and human suffering, in music that has the immediacy and impact of a great film score. And Britten wrote his Violin Concerto in 1939, as the clouds of war gathered. Every note reflects his anxiety – and his pain.

But nothing’s ever quite so simple, and amid Shostakovich’s furious trumpets and alarm bells the question refuses to die: whose side was he really on? And Britten, too, steps far outside his comfort zone, in a concerto that’s shot through with ambiguity and suppressed anger. In Gianandrea Noseda and Janine Jansen – described by the New York Times as ‘riveting in silence as in sound’ – we have a pair of artists who aren’t afraid to dig deep.

Pre-concert performance

5.30pm Barbican
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Free pre-concert recital