Ravel, Stravinsky & Francisco Coll


François-Xavier Roth conducts

Thu 11 Mar 2021 7.30pm - 9.15pm
Barbican Hall, London

Ravel Alborada del gracioso
Francisco Coll Violin Concerto (UK premiere)*
Stravinsky Jeu de cartes
Ravel La valse

* Co-commissioned by the LSO, Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg & Philharmonie Luxembourg, Seattle Symphony, the NTR ZaterdagMatinee, Radio 4's concert series in the Concertgebouw and Bamberger Symphoniker, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change



evs sponsorsignet engl rgb

Ravel dances on the edge of the volcano, Stravinsky plays a hand of poker, and violinist extraordinaire Patricia Kopatchinskaja joins François-Xavier Roth for something new.

All music paints a picture. Ravel’s La Valse evokes a civilisation spinning dizzyingly towards the abyss, while Stravinsky’s Jeu de Cartes finds wit, fantasy and life-or-death drama in a pack of cards. The young Spanish composer Francisco Coll, meanwhile, is a painter as well as a musician: his new Violin Concerto was created specially for the fabulous Patricia Kopatchinskaja.

If you’ve experience ‘PatKop’ in action, you’ll already know why she’s one of those musicians who acquire a cult following. ‘You can only win the freedoms you dare to take,’ she says. ‘The limits are in the imagination’. Between Stravinsky and Ravel’s fantastic visions of a world on the edge, this new concerto from Francisco Coll will allow her to be her inspirational, untrammelled self.

Pre-concert performance

6pm Barbican
LSO Platforms: Guildhall Artists
Free pre-concert recital