LSO Futures


François-Xavier Roth conducts

Thu 11 Mar 2021 6.30pm - 7.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

Charlie Piper Flēotan*
Betsy Jolas Well Met Suite
Francisco Coll Violin Concerto†
Ayanna Witter-Johnson Fairtrade?*

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin

LSO Futures is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

*Commissioned through the Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

†Co-commissioned by the LSO, Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg & Philharmonie Luxembourg, Seattle Symphony, the NTR ZaterdagMatinee, Radio 4's concert series in the Concertgebouw and Bamberger Symphoniker, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

Tickets: £35, £24, £18

£5 under-18s tickets available
30% off for unwaged (proof required)
Multibuy discounts available

£3 online booking fee
Click here for more information on booking fees and discounts

Under new guidelines, there are fewer available seats in the Barbican Hall, set as single tickets or in groups of twos, threes and fours. You can only sit in the same seating cluster as someone from your own household (or support bubble) and we ask you to not swap seats so we can maintain a safe distance between you and other groups.

Tickets must be booked online in advance.

Booking dates

On sale to previous ticket-holders and LSO Friends 10am Wed 27 Jan

On general sale 10am Fri 29 Jan

More booking info

-Previous ticket holders for rescheduled or cancelled LSO Spring 2021 concerts will not be charged a booking fee.
-Previous LSO 2020/21 Season multibuy bookers will have their top-up discounts automatically enabled.
-Previous Wildcard holders can book available £18 seats for £10 each.
-Previous Access bookers will be able to apply their usual discount when booking online.


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change



Helen Hamlyn Trust 50
evs sponsorsignet engl rgb

COVID information
Please note that all events are subject to change and cancellation at short-notice, while London remains in England's national lockdown. We will continue to review the latest guidance from the government and will notify ticket-holders if there are any changes or updates.

Violinist extraordinaire Patricia Kopatchinskaja gives the UK premiere of a brand new concerto – the heart of a whole concert devoted to music that simply demands to be heard.

When Patricia Kopatchinskaja takes to the stage, writes Gramophone, ‘the only thing you can be absolutely certain of is that you’re about to hear something brimming with personality, individuality and panache’. Today she gives the UK premiere of a concerto written specially for her by the Spanish composer Francisco Coll.

Coll has called the collaboration ‘one of the most exhilarating experiences of my creative life’, and this looks set to be one of the most talked-about premieres of recent years. But music constantly renews itself, and tonight we also showcases two striking new orchestral works by composers on the LSO’s Panufnik Composers Scheme, alongside an undisputed 21st-century classic by living legend Betsy Jolas.

This concert partially replaces the concert originally scheduled at 7.30pm on 11 March 2021.

> Repeated at 3.30pm

Barbican Access Members are eligible for discounted tickets (subject to availability). Please email [email protected] to book your access tickets.

The Barbican Centre and LSO St Luke's are both fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.