Tchaikovsky, Debussy & Mark Simpson

with Nicola Benedetti and Gianandrea Noseda

Sun 11 Apr 2021 7.00pm - 9.10pm
Barbican Hall, London

Debussy Three Nocturnes
Mark Simpson Violin Concerto (world premiere)*
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6, ‘Pathétique’

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin
Ladies of the London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
London Symphony Orchestra

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of the 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change


* Co-commissioned by the LSO, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra & WDR Symphony Orchestra Cologne,
with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation

evs sponsorsignet engl rgb


Tchaikovsky’s last symphony, Debussy’s iridescent visions, and a brand new violin concerto, performed by the one and only Nicola Benedetti.

There’s nothing to match the excitement of a musical imagination entering uncharted territory. Debussy’s musical paintings transmute light into radiant sound. Tchaikovsky’s ‘Pathétique Symphony lays heart and soul on the line, and you can almost feel the tears. 

What Mark Simpson has to say to us in his brand new Violin Concerto remains to be heard – and tonight, we’ll be the very first people to hear it. This imaginative young Liverpudlian composer has a habit of thinking big, and telling it like it is. With Gianandrea Noseda conducting, and Nicola Benedetti bringing all her unrivalled charisma and communicative power, this could be something very special indeed.