Mahler Symphony No 6: Leipzig


On Tour

Sun 16 May 2021 11.00am - 1.00pm
Gewandhaus Leipzig

Mahler Symphony No 6 
Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

To book tickets please visit the venue's website


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Mahler’s Sixth Symphony; a work which is disturbing in its nihilistic despair yet attains a true and monumental grandeur. The orchestral forces used are formidable: eight horns, six trumpets, four trombones, two harps and celesta and strings to match. Yet while it was written at one of the happiest times in Mahler’s life, march-rhythms haunt the symphony. And in the final movement, the extensive percussion section is augmented by a huge hammer for three blows of fate, leading to perhaps the bleakest ending in all music.