ONLINE EVENT: Panufnik Composers present …


Watch on YouTube

Sun 16 May 2021 7.00pm - 8.00pm

Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade Sleep-Chasings
Joe Bates Muted the Night
Caroline Bordignon Iridescent Flares III
James Chan Tanztheater
Jonathan Woolgar PROTO-SYMPHONY
Louise Drewett The Daymark

Jack Sheen conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Colin Matthews composition director
Christian Mason composition support

> Programme notes

Watch on YouTube

Tickets: free to watch

Six composers present original three-minute works for full orchestra, developed through the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme with guidance from Colin Matthews and Christian Mason.

Each year the Panufnik Workshop marks a pivotal point in the process of writing a new piece for orchestra. For the very first time, composers hear their musical ideas performed by the full forces of the London Symphony Orchestra, and are given guidance and feedback from musicians, mentors and peers.

The pieces we hear today were written by composers participating in the scheme in 2019/20, and were due to be workshopped in March 2020. Having been postponed due to Covid, the workshop of these pieces took place behind closed doors in March 2021. In a first for the scheme, we are delighted to share the end-of-workshop performances of these six new pieces, complete with introductions and explanations about the scheme from the composers themselves: Louise Drewett, Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade, Jonathan Woolgar, Caroline Bordignon, James Chan and Joe Bates. 

The LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

About the scheme

The LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme offers six composers each year the chance to write for the full London Symphony Orchestra, guided by renowned composers Colin Matthews and Christian Mason. Following a workshop of their music, two composers are commissioned to further develop their ideas into five- and ten-minute pieces, to be performed in concert at the Barbican.