Sibelius Symphony No 2


with Yuja Wang and a world premiere

Thu 27 May 2021 7.30pm - 9.20pm
Barbican Hall, London

Michael Tilson Thomas conductor
Yuja Wang piano
London Symphony Orchestra


Sold out

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of the 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

*Commissioned through the Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported  by Lady Hamlyn and the Helen Hamlyn Trust


Yuja Wang plays Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto and Michael Tilson Thomas conducts Sibelius. Big personalities for big pieces.

With some artists, the name is enough. ‘Yuja Wang’s pianism inspires a sense of wonder,’ wrote one critic after she played solo at the Barbican. In partnership with our Conductor Laureate Michael Tilson Thomas in the delightfully playful concerto that Shostakovich wrote for his teenage son, she’ll shine like a diamond.

But any diamond needs an appropriate setting, and Tilson Thomas begins with a striking new work by the young Finnish composer Joel Järventausta – a student of George Benjamin. And then he joins Jean Sibelius amidst the majesty of a very different Finnish landscape. Sibelius’ Second Symphony begins gently but gradually swells, like a river, to an unstoppable surge of hope, melody and the best kind of national pride.