ONLINE EVENT: Leon and the Place Between


Watch on YouTube

Sun 30 May 2021 11.00am - 12.00pm

The concert will feature music from:

Mozart Overture: The Marriage of Figaro
Rimsky-Korsakov The Flight of the Bumblebee
Strauss Also Sprach Zarathustra
Tchaikovsky Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy from The Nutcracker Suite No 1
Coleridge-Taylor Dance from Othello Suite 3
Elena Kats-Chernin Eliza's Aria from Wild Swans Suite
Paul Rissmann Leon and the Place Between

Jonathan Bloxham conductor
Abigail Kelly soprano
Paul Rissmann presenter and narrator
London Symphony Orchestra

Angie Newman BSL Interpretation 

Leon and the Place Between:
Angela McAllister
Grahame Baker-Smith illustrator
Victor Craven creative director and animation

Watch on YouTube

Tickets: free to watch

Available on demand for 90 days

Join presenter and composer Paul Rissmann and the London Symphony Orchestra for an online concert that delves into the book, Leon and the Place Between. Rissmann’s musical setting brings to life the characters of the book written Angela McAllister and illustrated by Grahame Baker-Smith and transports us all to the magical Place Between.

The online concert, conducted by Jonathan Bloxham also explores how composers tell a story using the instruments of the orchestra and features music by Coleridge-Taylor, Elena Kats-Chernin Rimsky-Korsakov, Strauss and Tchaikovsky.

Join in

For Teachers

Download our resource packs to help you prepare your students for the concert:

Classroom resource pack
Apple Book download
EPUB download
PDF download

Singing resource pack
Apple Book download
EPUB download
PDF download

If you have any queries do get in touch.

Register your interest to be kept in the loop on any further information and post-concert correspondence or sign up to the LSO's Key Stage Concerts mailing list.

For Families

Join in with the LSO! Whether you can already play an instrument or want to sing along – or both – you can get involved.

Download our Singing resource pack:
Apple Book download
EPUB download
PDF download

Download the music for your instrument:
Participation parts