Sibelius Symphony No 5


Yuja Wang performs Rachmaninoff

Thu 3 Jun 2021 7.30pm - 9.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

Sold out

Check for Wildcards

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18 (£15/£10 Wildcard tickets)

Wildcard info and T&Cs

£5 under-18s tickets available

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction. 
Click here for more information on booking fees.

Save up to 40% with our multibuy packages. 
Click here for more information.

On sale dates:
LSO Friends and Patrons
From Monday 2 March 2020

Online: Monday 16 March 2020 10am
By Phone: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am
In Person: Wednesday 18 March 2020 10am

LSO Friends and Patrons get Priority booking. Join as a Friend today.

Part of 2020/21 season

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change

Recommended by Classic FM 



Yuja Wang and Michael Tilson Thomas: two names that speak for themselves, in Rachmaninoff’s hugely popular Second Piano Concerto. Much more than just a brief encounter …

Rachmaninoff was shaping up to be the greatest pianist in history when he wrote his Second Concerto, and even he used to consider it a challenge. So when you hear how effortless Yuja Wang makes it sound, you’ll understand why her concerts sell out around the globe.

And because Yuja’s playing is pure inspiration, Michael Tilson Thomas opens and closes the concert with two pieces that make you want to reach for the sky. From America, Aaron Copland’s muscular, steel-framed Variations for Orchestra – a real rarity. And from Finland, the symphony that came to Jean Sibelius when he saw a flock of swans in flight, and which ends with a melody so simple, and so memorable, that once you’ve heard it, it’s yours for life.

*N.B Programme change from LSO Friends listings