Sun 13 Jun 2021 3.30pm - 4.45pm
Barbican Hall, London

Charlie Piper Flēotan*
Betsy Jolas Well Met Suite
Francisco Coll Violin Concerto† (UK premiere)
Ayanna Witter-Johnson Fairtrade?*

NB no interval

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
London Symphony Orchestra

LSO Futures is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

*Commissioned through the Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust

†Co-commissioned by the LSO, Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg & Philharmonie Luxembourg, Seattle Symphony, the NTR ZaterdagMatinee, Radio 4's concert series in the Concertgebouw and Bamberger Symphoniker, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation





Helen Hamlyn Trust 50
evs sponsorsignet engl rgb

Due to disruption caused by travel restrictions and quarantine requirements, François-Xavier Roth and Patricia Kopatchinskaja have regrettably had to withdraw from the LSO Futures concerts at the Barbican on Sunday 13 June. The evening performance at 6.30pm will go ahead, with a change of artists and revised programme, but we have unfortunately had to take the decision to cancel this afternoon performance at 3.30pm.

Ticket holders will be automatically refunded within the next 7 days. You do not need to take any further action, but please do contact [email protected] if you have any questions or if you have not received your refund by this point.

Posted 2.30pm Thu 3 Jun 2021

Violinist extraordinaire Patricia Kopatchinskaja gives the UK premiere of a brand new concerto – the heart of a whole concert devoted to the musical innovators of our time.

When Patricia Kopatchinskaja takes to the stage, writes Gramophone, ‘the only thing you can be absolutely certain of is that you’re about to hear something brimming with personality, individuality and panache’. Today she gives the UK premiere of a concerto written specially for her by the Spanish composer Francisco Coll, who has called the collaboration ‘one of the most exhilarating experiences of my creative life’.

Music is constantly evolving and endlessly intriguing, as living legend Betsy Jolas well knows, and her Well Met Suite is a mirror into the characteristics of musicians at work. It is 'music about music, and the life of music'. Striking short works by Charlie Piper and Ayanna Witter-Johnson complete the programme. They share with Coll their experience as alumni of the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme, and like all the composers we hear today, they are at the cutting edge of classical music of our age.