Aix-en-Provence Festival 2021: Concert #2


On tour

Wed 14 Jul 2021 8.00pm - 10.00pm
Grand Théâtre de Provence

Sibelius The Oceanides
Kaija Saariaho Cinq Reflets de L'Amour de loin
Stravinsky Violin Concerto in D
Sibelius Symphony No 7

Susanna Mälkki conductor
Clément Mao-Takacs conductor
Beate Mordal soprano
Stéphane Degout baritone
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Aix-en-Provence Festival website.

For its second concert, conducted by Susanna Mälkki et Clément Mao-Takacs, the London Symphony Orchestra presents Cinq Reflets de L’Amour de loin, a series of pieces taken from Kaija Saariaho’s first operatic masterpiece, the most “Tristanian” of contemporary operas. It is being performed between the impressive piece The Oceanides and the Seventh Symphony, a spiritual testament by her fellow countryman Jean Sibelius. In the same spirit, Patricia Kopatchinskaja presents Stravinsky’s Violin Concerto, which is in turns cheerful and melancholic, but never strays from its virtuosic qualities.