Philharmonie Luxembourg: Bruckner's Journey to the 'Romantic' Symphony

LSO Audience Barbican 180521 041.jpg

On tour

Wed 22 Sep 2021 8.00pm - 11.59pm
Philharmonie Luxembourg

Bruckner Discarded Scherzo (1876) and Discarded Finale, ‘Volksfest’ (1878) from Symphony No 4, ed Benjamin-Gunnar Cohrs
Bruckner Symphony No 4, 'Romantic' (1878–81), ed Benjamin-Gunnar Cohrs*

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please head to the Philharmonie website


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.


Sir Simon Rattle takes a journey of discovery around Bruckner’s magnificent ‘Romantic’ symphony – including music that has never been performed by a professional orchestra in the UK.

The air shimmers and glows, and somewhere in the mists, a solitary horn gives a lonely call. The stuff of fairytales? The truth is, it’s impossible to write about Bruckner’s majestic Fourth Symphony without letting the imagination soar; he never wrote anything more colourful, or more poetic. In Germany they call it the ‘Romantic’ symphony, and it’s easy to hear why.

Sir Simon Rattle loves this symphony, and he’s aware, too, that Bruckner’s inspiration burned so brightly that he ended up with more ideas than he could actually use. 'There is much wonderful music which remains almost entirely unplayed' he says, and today he steps inside Bruckner’s workshop to explore some of the music that didn’t make the final cut. Then he conducts the entire symphony in all its splendour: music that never gets any less stirring, and has never sounded so fresh.