Boulanger, Shostakovich & Dvořák


With Nicola Benedetti

Sun 10 Oct 2021 7.00pm - 8.30pm
Barbican Hall, London

Lili Boulanger D’un matin de printemps
Shostakovich Violin Concerto
Dvořák The Wild Dove

Daniel Harding conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


£10/£15 Wildcard tickets
Check for Wildcards
Wildcard info and T&Cs

More info

Young people
£5 for under-18s
Young Barbican 14–25
More info

More info

Barbican Access members
More info

On sale dates

Priority Booking
From Friday 25 June 10am: LSO Patrons, LSO Pioneers & LSO Ambassador Friends
From Monday 28 June 10am: all LSO Friends (Ambassador, Benefactor, Associate & Supporter levels)

Public Booking
From Tuesday 6 July 10am


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Darkness, mystery and sounds that speak straight to the soul, as Nicola Benedetti and Daniel Harding perform Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto.

There’s a reason why Nicola Benedetti is one of Britain’s best-loved violinists. She’s a supreme communicator; one of those artists who seem to establish a direct connection to her listeners’ emotions. Expect playing of rare intensity and commitment as she tackles Shostakovich’s devastating First Violin Concerto – a work that she describes as “overwhelming”.

That’s the dark heart of this typically imaginative programme. It’s all about storytelling, and atmosphere too. Lilli Boulanger evokes the tingling vitality of a spring morning, while Dvořák retells a sinister fairytale from the Bohemian countryside, in music brimming with fantasy, melody and glowing orchestral colours. Under former LSO principal guest conductor Daniel Harding, every note will speak.

The Barbican Centre is fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.