Unsuk Chin, Sibelius & Bartók


Unsuk Chin, Sibelius & Bartók

Thu 6 Jan 2022 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

Unsuk Chin Violin Concerto No 2, ‘Scherben der Stille’ (world premiere)*
Sibelius Symphony No 7
Bartók The Miraculous Mandarin – Suite

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Leonidas Kavakos violin
London Symphony Orchestra

* Commissioned by the London Symphony Orchestra, Boston Symphony Orchestra and Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


£10/£15 Wildcard tickets
Check for Wildcards
Wildcard info and T&Cs

More info

Young people
£5 for under-18s
Young Barbican 14–25
More info

More info

Barbican Access members
More info


On sale dates

Priority Booking 
From Friday 22 October 10am: LSO Patrons, LSO Pioneers & LSO Ambassador Friends
From Monday 25 October 10am: all LSO Friends (Ambassador, Benefactor, Associate & Supporter levels)

Public Booking
From Tuesday 2 November 10am

Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

evs sponsorsignet engl rgb

The 2020s meet the 1920s, as Sir Simon Rattle conducts Sibelius, Bartók, and the world premiere of Unsuk Chin’s new Violin Concerto. 

A new year, and a brand-new masterpiece from Unsuk Chin, the poetic, dazzlingly original musical mind behind the opera Alice in Wonderland. She’s called it Shards of Silence, and it prepares the way for a musical journey back to the 1920s – when Sibelius and Bartók found equally astonishing, equally uncompromising new ways of listening to the world. 

This is Chin’s second violin concerto. Her first is already a modern classic, and she hadn’t planned to write another – but when she heard the playing of Leonidas Kavakos, she broke her own rule. Naturally, he’s the soloist for tonight’s world-premiere performance, and since history demands context (even while you’re making it) Sir Simon Rattle completes the programme with Sibelius’ Seventh Symphony and Bartók’s brutal, brilliant Miraculous Mandarin Suite. 

Your Visit

Standard seating is being used for this concert. We encourage audience members to bring and wear a face covering, unless you are exempt. Click here for the latest infomation on the measures that are being taken for the safety and comfort of visitors to the Barbican Centre.


The Barbican Centre is fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.