Dvořák, Walker & Schumann: Stanford


On tour

Sat 19 Mar 2022 7.30pm - 9.00pm
Bing Concert Hall, Stanford University

Dvořák American Suite Op 98b
Walker Lilacs for voice and orchestra
Schumann Symphony No 2

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Nicole Cabell soprano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: for more information and tickets please visit the Stanford Live website.

The LSO's performance of George Walker's Lilacs is generously supported by The Aaron Copland Fund for Music.

Sir Simon Rattle conducts Dvořák, Schumann and George Walker, in a concert filled with feelings that run too deep for words.

Music starts where words leave off – and in George Walker’s Lilacs, the poetry of Walt Whitman is simply the starting point for an even more fantastic emotional journey. It’s the beautiful, haunted heart of a concert that begins with Dvořák’s playful homage to the New World, and ends with Schumann’s most personal (some might say greatest) symphony.

For Sir Simon Rattle, it’s all about what lies behind the notes on the page – whether Dvořák’s warm-hearted nostalgia, or the musical love-notes to his wife Clara that Schumann threaded throughout his Second Symphony. And at the centre of it all, there’s a rare hearing for Lilacs. This ravishing exploration of longing and loss won a Pulitzer Prize in 1996, and if you’ve heard Nicole Cabell perform at the Royal Opera, you’ll know that she makes every note tell a story.