LSO Futures


with François-Xavier Roth

Sun 3 Apr 2022 7.00pm - 9.25pm
Barbican Hall, London

Joel Järventausta Sunfall (world premiere)*
Till Eulenspiegel
Helen Grime Trumpet Concerto: night-sky-blue (world premiere)‡
Francisco Coll Violin Concerto (UK premiere)†
Strauss Death and Transfiguration

François-Xavier Roth conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja violin
Håkan Hardenberger trumpet
London Symphony Orchestra

LSO Futures is generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust.

‡ Commissioned by the Koussevitzky Foundation, Library of Congress, London Symphony Orchestra and Boston Symphony Orchestra.

* Commissioned through the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust.

† Commissioned by the London Symphony Orchestra, Orchestre Philharmonique de Luxembourg & Philharmonie Luxembourg, Seattle Symphony, the NTR ZaterdagMatinee, Radio 4’s concert series in the Concertgebouw and Bamberger Symphoniker, with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


£10/£15 Wildcard tickets
Check for Wildcards
Wildcard info and T&Cs

More info

Young people
£5 for under-18s
Young Barbican 14–25
More info

More info

Barbican Access members
More info


On sale dates

Priority Booking 
From Friday 22 October 10am: LSO Patrons, LSO Pioneers & LSO Ambassador Friends
From Monday 25 October 10am: all LSO Friends (Ambassador, Benefactor, Associate & Supporter levels)

Public Booking
From Tuesday 2 November 10am


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

HHT 200

evs sponsorsignet engl rgb

The future starts here, as Håkan Hardenberger and Patricia Kopatchinskaja join François-Xavier Roth for a concert that pairs Richard Strauss with three 21st-century premieres.

The young Richard Strauss was a risk-taker – a musical innovator so dizzyingly irreverent that even his own father sometimes thought he’d gone too far. Here two of Strauss’ most audacious early masterpieces frame premieres by three of the brightest musical imaginations working right here, right now.

So Håkan Hardenberger – arguably the greatest living classical trumpeter – premieres the new concerto by Helen Grime: one of those composers whose name alone guarantees something utterly original. There’s a solar-powered new showpiece by Joel Järventausta, a student of George Benjamin. Francisco Coll, meanwhile, is a painter well as a musician, and his Violin Concerto was created especially for Patricia Kopatchinskaja. ‘You can only win the freedoms you dare to take,’ she says, and this new concerto will liberate her to be her untrammelled self.

Sneak Peek

Listen to Patricia Kopatchinskaja perform an excerpt from Francisco Coll's Violin Concerto. 

Your Visit

We encourage audience members to bring and wear a face covering, unless you are exempt. Click here for the latest infomation on the measures that are being taken for the safety and comfort of visitors to the Barbican Centre.

Distanced Seating

Standard seating is being used in most of the Hall for this concert. Audience members who would prefer to sit in a socially distanced environment can choose to book certain seats in the rear of the Circle.

Available seats will be spaced 1 metre apart, and are indicated by an information flag when making your selection during the booking process. Those booking two or more adjacent seats are welcome to move together to sit as one group on the evening of the concert. All audience members are asked to wear a face covering unless exempt.

Please contact [email protected] if you have any questions.

Concert programme

The concert programme is available to view in advance here or you can pick up a free print copy on the night.


The Barbican Centre is fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.