Prokofiev Fifth Symphony


with Gianandrea Noseda NB CHANGE OF SOLOIST

Sun 10 Apr 2022 7.00pm - 9.15pm
Barbican Hall, London

George Stevenson Vanishing City*
Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto
Prokofiev Symphony No 5

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Simone Lamsma violin
London Symphony Orchestra

* Commissioned through the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamlyn Trust.

Tickets: £60 £48 £35 £24 £18

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


£10/£15 Wildcard tickets
Check for Wildcards
Wildcard info and T&Cs

More info

Young people
£5 for under-18s
Young Barbican 14–25
More info

More info

Barbican Access members
More info


On sale dates

Priority Booking 
From Friday 22 October 10am: LSO Patrons, LSO Pioneers & LSO Ambassador Friends
From Monday 25 October 10am: all LSO Friends (Ambassador, Benefactor, Associate & Supporter levels)

Public Booking
From Tuesday 2 November 10am


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

HHT 200

Gianandrea Noseda conducts Prokofiev’s ‘symphony of the greatness of the human spirit’, and Simone Lamsma is the soloist in Tchaikovsky’s hugely popular Violin Concerto.

Tchaikovsky wrote his Violin Concerto by the shores of Lake Geneva, surrounded by people he loved – and you can tell. Gianandrea Noseda follows this in grand style, with a truly epic symphony.

In fact, it’s said that at the Moscow premiere in 1945, Prokofiev couldn’t begin his Fifth Symphony until an artillery barrage had fallen silent. This is music of iron and steel, and LSO Principal Guest Conductor Gianandrea Noseda is passionate about it. First, though, he puts down a marker for the future, with a new orchestral work by George Stevenson - a rising star of the LSO’s Panufnik Composers Scheme.

Change of artist
After having recently undergone surgery, Janine Jansen has been forced to withdraw from this concert, due to her recovery taking longer than expected. The LSO is delighted that Simone Lamsma has agreed to step in to perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto at short notice.
Posted 7 April 2022 4pm

Your Visit

Standard seating is being used for this concert. We encourage audience members to bring and wear a face covering, unless you are exempt. Click here for the latest infomation on the measures that are being taken for the safety and comfort of visitors to the Barbican Centre.

Concert programme

The concert programme is available to view in advance here or you can pick up a free print copy on the night.


The Barbican Centre is fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.