Durfulé Requiem: Malcolm Rowat Memorial Concert


London Symphony Chorus

Sat 2 Jul 2022 7.00pm - 8.15pm
Southwark Cathedral

Maurice Duruflé Requiem

Lionel Sow conductor
Julie Boulianne mezzo-soprano
Marcus Farnsworth baritone
London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

A special free concert of Duruflé's Requiem in the glorious setting of Southwark Cathedral, with soloists Julie Boulianne and Marcus Farnsworth, conducted by Lionel Sow.

This concert is the generous gift of the late Malcolm Rowat, a Canadian diplomat with the World Bank, and a bon vivant with interests in the arts, food and wine. He was a member of both the London Symphony Chorus and the Chorus of the Orchestra de Paris. Malcolm studied and wrote about the music of Richard Strauss, and the concert includes the composer's Prelude to Capriccio, scored for sextet.

Maurice Duruflé was the greatest organist of his day, an outstanding teacher at the Paris Conservatory, and helped to restore the popularity of Gregorian chant. His Reqiuem, performed in the version for soloists, chorus, orchestra and organ, is an unquestionable masterpiece that reaches the heart with its purity and grace. Richard Strauss' final opera, Capriccio, is subtitled 'A Conversation Piece for Music' and considers the question 'Which is the greater art, poetry or music?'. It is a fitting introduction to a concert in memory of Malcolm who enjoyed and wrote about art in all its forms.

London Symphony Chorus

The London Symphony Chorus was formed in 1966 to complement the work of the London Symphony Orchestra and is renowned internationally for its concerts and recordings with the orchestra. It is an independent charity run by its members, and is committed to excellence, diversity equity and inclusion, the development of its members, engaging in the musical life of London, and commissioning and performing new works. Please see: lsc.org.uk