ECHO Rising Stars

diana tishenko.jpg

Diana Tishchenko & José Gallardo

Fri 18 Nov 2022 1.00pm - 2.00pm
Jerwood Hall, LSO St Luke's, London

JS Bach ‘Andante’ from Violin Sonata No 2
Fazil Say Sonata No 2, Mount Ida
Vasco Mendonça a box of darkness with a bird in its heart (commissioned by ECHO)
Maxim Shalygin KAYA

Diana Tishchenko violin
José Gallardo piano

Tickets £12 (£5 Young Barbican)

+ booking fee per transaction of £0.60 online

Praised in the German press for her musicality, technical mastery and charisma, Ukrainian-born violinist Diana Tishchenko possesses a musical imagination to match a thrilling programme.

In a concert of contrasts, Tishchenko sets the scene with two sonatas composed almost 300 years apart. The lyrical undulations of the ‘Andante’ from J S Bach’s Violin Sonata No 2 soothe the soul while Fazil Saye’s evocative elegy to nature takes us on a journey from the depths of chaos and destruction to the heights of hope and rebirth.

A violinist of ‘spontaneity and eloquence’ (The Strad), Tishchenko shifts with ease from billowing melodies to the arresting sounds of music far more contemporary, including the haunting beauty of KAYA by Ukrainian composer Maxim Shalygin and Vasco Mendonça’s tempestuous a box of darkness with a bird in its heart, written for Tishchenko as part of her ECHO Rising Star series. And, as we’ll no doubt discover, the title of rising star and this promising young artist go together like hand in glove.

Your Visit

We encourage audience members to bring and wear a face covering, unless you are exempt. Click here for the latest information on the measures that are being taken for the safety and comfort of visitors to LSO St Luke's.


LSO St Luke's is fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.