Shostakovich: The Year 1905 – Gianandrea Noseda


Epic. Intimate. Enchanted.

Thu 24 Nov 2022 7.00pm - 9.00pm
Barbican Hall, London

Louise Drewett The Daymark (world premiere, LSO Panufnik commission)*
Maurice Ravel Piano Concerto in G major
Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No 11, ‘The Year 1905’

Gianandrea Noseda conductor
Alice Sara Ott piano
London Symphony Orchestra

Tickets: £65 £49 £35 £24 £18

£3 online booking fee, £4 telephone booking fee per transaction - click here for more information on booking fees


£10/£15 Wildcard tickets
Check for Wildcards
Wildcard info and T&Cs

More info

Young people
£5 for under-18s
Young Barbican 14–25
More info

More info

Barbican Access members
More info


On sale dates

Priority Booking 
From Thursday 31 March 10am: LSO Patrons, LSO Pioneers & LSO Ambassador Friends
From Monday 4 April 10am: all LSO Friends (Ambassador, Benefactor, Associate & Supporter levels), Groups

Public Booking
From Friday 8 April 10am

* Commissioned through the LSO Panufnik Composers Scheme, generously supported by Lady Hamlyn and The Helen Hamyn Trust.

Helen Hamlyn Trust 50


Part of the Music Academy of the West/ London Symphony Orchestra partnership. The lead sponsors of the partnership are Linda and Michael Keston and Mary Lynn and Warren Staley. Additional support has been provided in remembrance of Léni Fé Bland.

Music Academy Classic Vertical 200


Please note that finish times are approximate and subject to change.

Gianandrea Noseda conducts Shostakovich’s blockbuster 11th symphony – alongside Ravel and a new creation by Louise Drewett.

War, protest and a nation on the brink. Shostakovich based his massive 11th Symphony on a revolution that failed, and from the roar of the crowd to the thunder of gunfire it never gets any less powerful. But before every storm comes calm. Today, we’ve got the elegance and wit of Ravel’s jazzy piano concerto, and a glowing Devon seascape from the young British composer Louise Drewett.

Pianist Alice Sara Ott is a one-of-a-kind musician – a performer who can do practically anything, and a thoughtful, imaginative collaborator who loves nothing more than responding to her fellow musicians. She partners with the LSO’s Principal Guest Conductor as he continues his cycle of Shostakovich’s Symphonies.

‘I hope this is what the public would experience: not just a historical figure, but someone who still speaks to you personally in a very fresh and meaningful way even today!’
~Gianandrea Noseda on Shostakovich’s symphonies

Your Visit

Standard seating is being used for this concert. We encourage audience members to bring and wear a face covering, unless you are exempt.


The Barbican Centre is fully accessible. Please visit this page for full details or contact us at [email protected] at any point ahead of your visit to let us know how we can support you.

Main image © Pascal Albandopulos